The state of Illinois is a “fault” car accident state. This means that if there is an accident that the person who caused the accident is responsible for compensating anyone who suffered as a result of the accident. Illinois is also a “mandatory insurance state.”
According to the law, drivers must carry minimum coverage, also known as liability insurance, to register a vehicle and to drive legally. The basic coverage pays medical bills, property damage, and other costs associated with the accident. The minimum coverage includes:
All Illinois liability insurance policies come with uninsured motorist coverage. This would cover you if a driver without insurance causes an accident. It would also cover if you were a victim of a hit and run.
If you cause an accident and you want it to be covered, you can add full coverage to your policy. If your vehicle isn't paid off yet, the lender will require you to carry full coverage until your vehicle is paid off.
According to Illinois state law, you must have car insurance to legally drive. If you are caught driving without insurance, you would be subjected to penalties. If you are driving a registered vehicle without insurance, you would be responsible for paying a fine of $500. If your registration was suspended due to lack of insurance, the fine would be $1,000. You would also be responsible for paying for any injuries or property damage that you cause during an accident, and the cost could be astronomical.
If you just purchased a vehicle, you will need to purchase a car insurance policy before you can get it registered. The agents at Balanoff Enterprise LLC can help you purchase a policy. We will make sure that your policy meets the minimum coverage required by law. If you want additional protection, we can help you find a policy with the level of protection that you need.
To get your policy started, give us a call or stop by the office today.